FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION 819 TAYLOR STREET, ROOM 14A02 FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76102-9003

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION 300 E. 8TH STREET, ROOM 826 AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701-3225

December 15, 2022

Refer to: HPP-TX

Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Dallas-Fort Worth Arlington, Denton-Lewisville, and McKinney Urbanized Areas (MPO) Transportation Conformity Determination Mobility 2045: The Metropolitan Transportation Plan for North Central Texas – 2022 Update and FY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program

Mr. Marc D. Williams
Executive Director
Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483

Dear Mr. Williams:

We have reviewed the documentation supporting the transportation conformity determination for the Mobility 2045: The Metropolitan Transportation Plan for North Central Texas – 2022 Update (Mobility 2045 – 2022 Update) and FY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (FY 2023-2026 TIP) adopted by the Metropolitan Planning Organization's Regional Transportation Council on June 9, 2022. Based upon our review and consultation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), and the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), we hereby find:

• that the Mobility 2045 – 2022 Update and FY 2023-2026 TIP meet all the requirements for making a joint conformity determination under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.

Additionally, we find:

- that the Mobility 2045 2022 Update satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.324 regarding the review and update of metropolitan transportation plans in air quality non-attainment areas; and
- that the FY 2023-2026 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.326 regarding the update, public involvement, project inclusion, consistency with the plan, and fiscal constraint of TIPs in air quality non-attainment areas.

The interagency consultative partners have indicated that they have no unresolved issues concerning this conformity determination in their letters dated: December 14, 2022, for TCEQ, December 14, 2022, for TxDOT and December 14, 2022, for EPA. The conformity determination and procedures used to make this determination are in accordance with the provisions of the transportation conformity rule (40 CFR Parts 51 and 93), dated August 15, 1997, as amended.

Please note that this action restarts the four-year time clock associated with a four-year plan update. Accordingly, an updated MTP and corresponding transportation conformity demonstration will be required by December 15, 2026.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) acts as executive agent for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) on metropolitan transportation plan and transportation improvement program air quality conformity determinations. Accordingly, this letter will serve as a joint FHWA/FTA conformity determination.

Should you have any questions concerning this action, please contact Jose Campos at <u>Jose.Campos@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5932, Barbara Maley at <u>Barbara.Maley@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5926 or Krystal Lastrape at <u>Krystal.Lastrape@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5922.

Sincerely yours,

Achille Alonzi Division Administrator

Electronic copies:

Federal Transit Administration, Region 6 (FTA-6)

Donald Koski David Bartels Lynn Hayes Marc Oliphant

Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division (FHWA-TX)

TX-PPD Michael Leary, Jose Campos, Barbara Maley, Krystal Lastrape

TX-OPS Valeria Arocho, Ujval Patel

TX-Finance

United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 (EPA)

Jeff Riley

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

Donna Huff Jamie Zech

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)

Transportation Planning and Programming Division (TPP)

Humberto 'Tito' Gonzalez, Jr.

Janie Temple, Laura Norton

Casey Wells, Phillip Tindall, Brigida Gonzalez

Environmental Affairs Division (ENV)

Doug Booher

Tim Wood, Glendora Lopez

Dallas District (DAL)

Ceason Clemens

Fort Worth District (FTW)

David M. Salazar Jr.

Paris District (PAR)

Noel Paramanantham

Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Dallas-Fort Worth Arlington, Denton-Lewisville, and McKinney Urbanized Areas (MPO)

Duncan Webb, Chairman, RTC

Mike Eastland, NCTCOG

Michael Morris, Transportation Director, NCTCOG

Regional Transit

Nadine Lee, Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)

Paul Cristina, Denton County Transportation Authority (DCTA)

Richard Andreski, Trinity Metro