

# North Central Texas Council of Governments

TO: Local Government Officials

DATE: April 10, 2024

FROM: Mike Eastland Executive Director

## SUBJECT: Nominations for NCTCOG's William J. Pitstick Award

In 1992, Bill Pitstick retired from the Council of Governments after serving 26 years as its first Executive Director. To honor his long tenure and his dedicated professional service to the North Central Texas region, NCTCOG established the **William J. Pitstick Award** in 1993. This award, presented annually, is intended to recognize an outstanding individual from the 16-county North Central Texas region, who has demonstrated a commitment to the concept of "regionalism" by demonstrating leadership and promoting the concept that municipal and county boundaries need not be a barrier to good, sound policies and programs for addressing issues of common concern.

Previous recipients (with their titles at the time the award was presented) are:

- ◆2023 Jimmy Perdue, Director of Public Safety, North Richland Hills
- ◆2022 Dan Johnson, Former City Manager, Richardson
- ◆2021 Betsy Price, Mayor, Fort Worth
- ◆ 2020 Clayton Chandler, Retired City Manager, Mansfield
- ◆ 2019 Steve Terrell, Mayor, Allen
- ◆ 2018 Mary Horn, County Judge, Denton County
- ◆ 2017 no award
- ◆ 2016 Mickey Parson, Mayor Pro Tem, Granbury
- ◆ 2015 Geralyn Kever, Councilmember, McKinney
- ◆ 2014 Leonard Martin, City Manager, Carrollton
- ◆ 2013 Ron Whitehead, City Manager, Town of Addison
- ◆ 2012 Bill Keffler, City Manager (Retired), Richardson
- ◆2011 Rob Franke, Mayor, Cedar Hill
- ◆ 2010 T. Oscar Trevino, Mayor, North Richland Hills
- ◆ 2009 Jungus Jordan, Councilmember, Fort Worth

- ♦ 2008 Jack Hatchell, Commissioner, Collin County
- ◆ 2007 Mike Moncrief, Mayor, Fort Worth
- ♦ 2006 Roy Orr, Past President, NCTCOG
- ♦ 2005 Euline Brock, Mayor, Denton
- ♦ 2004 Ron Harris, County Judge, Collin County
- ◆2003 Gary Slagel, Mayor, Richardson
- ◆2002 Ron Harmon, Commissioner, Johnson County
- ♦ 2001 Linda Harper-Brown, Councilmember, Irving
- ♦ 2000 Lee Jackson, County Judge, Dallas County
- ◆1999 Dan Petty, President, North Texas Commission
- ◆1998 Ray Noah, Mayor, Richardson
- ◆1997 Jack Miller, Mayor, Denton
- ◆1996 David A. Griffin, Partner, Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition
- ◆1995 Bob Hughey, City Manager, Richardson
- ◆1994 Chris Semos, Commissioner, Dallas County
- ◆1993 Tom Vandergriff, County Judge, Tarrant County

We are inviting nominations for the **2024** *William J. Pitstick Award*, which will be presented at NCTCOG's Annual General Assembly Meeting scheduled to be held at the Hurst Conference Center on Friday, June 14, 2024, at 12:00 p.m. A distinguished panel of local government professionals will select this year's winner. Previously nominated candidates are eligible, and renominations are welcome.

Both the nomination **guidelines** and the **nomination form** are available online. You may download an editable form or nominate online at <u>www.nctcog.org/nominations</u>. We would appreciate return of the form no later than <u>May 17, 2024</u>. Thank you for your interest in the principles represented by this award and, in advance, for your response to this call for nominations.

ME:jw

#### North Central Texas Council of Governments William J. Pitstick Award

#### GUIDELINES

In 1993, the North Central Texas Council of Governments established the William J. Pitstick Award to be presented each year at NCTCOG's Annual General Assembly Meeting. This gesture honors the professional service of Bill Pitstick during his 26 years as NCTCOG's executive director. The award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the concept of "regionalism" by promoting the concept that municipal and county boundaries need not be a barrier to good, sound policies and programs for addressing issues of common concern.

## Who is Eligible?

Any current or former elected or appointed public official or any private sector individual (excluding current NCTCOG staff and Executive Board members) who has or presently works and lives in the 16-county North Central Texas region (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise counties).

## Who Can Nominate?

Local government staff members, local elected officials, chamber of commerce officials, or interested citizens may nominate someone for this award (individuals may nominate themselves).

## How Do I Nominate?

- Submit a one-page transmittal letter to identify the nominator(s) and the nominee (include title and employer) and to summarize the nominees qualifications for the award.
- Complete the nomination form. To be qualified, nominations must be submitted on this form or a facsimile thereof. Please use the additional comments page to provide specific information relative to the nominee's leadership in the promotion of regional cooperation. Please provide additional information beyond solely a resume.

#### **Selection Criteria**

Applicants will be judged on their:

- **Demonstrated** leadership and commitment to the concept of "regionalism"
- **Promotion** of the concept that municipal and county boundaries need not be a barrier to good, sound policies and programs for addressing issues of common concern
- **Promotion** of coordination and cooperation among citizens and local elected officials in a continuing effort to solve regional problems

**Nomination Deadline** 

#### THE DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS IS MAY 17, 2024

#### PLEASE NOMINATE ONLINE AT <a href="http://www.nctcog.org/nominations">www.nctcog.org/nominations</a>

or email the nomination form to the Executive Director's Office at jwatson@nctcog.org

# William J. Pitstick Regional Excellence Award NOMINATION FORM Submission Deadline: May 17, 2024

#### PRINCIPAL NOMINATOR INFORMATION:

#### NOMINEE INFORMATION:

Date:	Nominee Name:
Name:	Nominee Title:
Title:	Nominee Organization:
Organization:	Nominee Email:
Email:	Nominee Mailing City/State/Zip:
Mailing City/State/Zip:	Nominee Office Phone:
Office Phone:	Nominee Home/Cell Phone:
Home/Cell Phone:	

#### NOMINEE INFORMATION

My nominee has not only made contributions to good, strong, representative local government, but has also demonstrated a strong commitment to regionalism through the following actions/activities:

## DESCRIBE WHY YOUR NOMINEE SHOULD RECEIVE THIS AWARD

Please provide specific comments that demonstrate how your nominee has promoted good, strong representative local government and a spirit of regionalism in solving multi-jurisdictional problems. Please provide additional information beyond solely a resume.