

North Central Texas Council of Governments

TO: Local Government Officials DATE: April 10, 2024

FROM: Mike Eastland Executive Director

SUBJECT: Nominations for the NCTCOG Regional Cooperation Award

The North Central Texas Council of Governments established the **Regional Cooperation Award** to recognize and honor extraordinary cooperative programs and projects among local governments. By working together, governments can produce impressive results and strengthen the region. This award is intended to recognize local governments that have demonstrated a commitment to the concept of "regionalism" through cooperative projects that cross municipal and/or county boundaries, and provide for more efficient use of resources, while still yielding a high quality of service to the citizens. Previous recipients are:

2023 2022	Cities of Cedar Hill, Duncanville, and DeSoto Cities of Corinth and Lake Dallas, and Towns of	2008	Tarrant County and the Cities of Benbrook, Fort Worth, Lake Worth, River Oaks, Westworth Village, White Settlement
2021	Hickory Creek and Shady Shores Denton County Mass Vaccinations Cooperation Site The Cities of Coder Lill DeSete Dynasoville	2007	Cities of Southlake & Keller
2020	The Cities of Cedar Hill, DeSoto, Duncanville, Lancaster	2006	Rockwall County and the Cities of Rockwall, Fate, Heath, Mobile City, Rowlett, Royse City, McClendon
2019	The Cities of Kennedale and Arlington		Chisholm
2018	The Cities of McKinney and Allen, and Collin College	2005	The North Texas Municipal Water District and the
2017	The Cities of Anna, Howe, Melissa and Van Alstyne		Cities of Allen, Frisco, McKinney, Plano, Richardson
2016	The Town of Addison and the Cities of Carrollton, Coppell and Farmers Branch	2004	Cities of Bedford, Colleyville, Euless, Grapevine, Haltom, Hurst, Keller, North Richland Hills
2015	The Cities of Azle, Mineral Wells, Springtown and	2003	Denton County Transportation Authority
	Weatherford	2002	Cities of Fort Worth, Haltom City, Keller, Richland
2014	The Cities of Arlington, Carrollton, Euless, Grand		Hills, Watauga
2013	Prairie and Plano The Cities of Keller and Colleyville	2001	Dallas Area Rapid Transit and the Fort Worth
2013	Cities of Fort Worth, Arlington, Euless and DFW	2000	Transportation Authority Cities of Corinth and Lake Dallas and the Towns of
2012	Airport	2000	Cities of Corinth and Lake Dallas and the Towns of Hickory Creek and Shady Shores
2011	Cities of Aledo, Hudson Oaks, Willow Park and Towns of Annetta, Annetta North, Annetta South	1999	The DFW International Airport Board and the Cities of Euless, Dallas, Fort Worth
2010	Cities of Cedar Hill, DeSoto, Duncanville and	1998	Cities of Cedar Hill, DeSoto, Duncanville, Lancaster
2010	Lancaster	1997	Cities of Colleyville and Bedford
2009	Cities of Hurst, Euless and Bedford	1996	Cities of Bedford, Hurst, Euless

We are inviting nominations for the **2024 Regional Cooperation Award**, which will be presented at NCTCOG's Annual General Assembly Meeting scheduled to be held at the Hurst Conference Center on Friday, June 14, 2024, at 12:00 p.m. A distinguished panel of local government professionals will select this year's winner. Previously nominated candidates are eligible, and re-nominations are welcome.

Both the nomination **guidelines** and the **nomination form** are available online. You may download an editable form or nominate online at www.nctcog.org/nominations. We would appreciate return of the form no later than May 17, 2024. Thank you for your interest in the principles represented by this award and, in advance, for your response to this call for nominations.

ME:jw Attachments

North Central Texas Council of Governments Regional Cooperation Award

GUIDELINES

In 1996, the North Central Texas Council of Governments established the Regional Cooperation Award to be presented each year at NCTCOG's Annual General Assembly Meeting. The award recognizes local governments that have demonstrated a commitment to the concept of "regionalism" through their cooperative programs and projects.

Any local governments in the 16-county North Central Texas region (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, Wise counties).

Who Can Nominate?

Local government staff members, local elected officials, chamber of commerce officials, or interested citizens may nominate a local government to receive this award.

How Do I Nominate?

- Submit the nomination form. Identify the nominator(s), the jurisdictions involved, the program/project being recognized, and summarize how the project meets the award criteria listed below.
- To be qualified, nominations must be submitted on the nomination form or a facsimile thereof.

Selection Criteria

Applicants will be judged on ...

- **Promotion** of coordination and cooperation between or among different cities or counties; or between a city and a county, on programs/projects which address common needs;
- Recognition that jurisdictional boundaries are not barriers to such programs and projects; and,
- **Demonstration** that joint programs and projects can provide better use of resources and equally high or higher quality service to their citizens.

NOMINATION DEADLINE

THE DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS IS MAY 17, 2024

PLEASE NOMINATE ONLINE AT www.nctcog.org/nominations

or email the nomination form to the Executive Director's Office at jwatson@nctcog.org

Regional Cooperation Award NOMINATION FORM

Submission Deadline: May 17, 2024

PRINCIPAL NOMINATOR INFORMATION:

Date:	Email:			
Name:	Mailing City/State/Zip:			
Title:	Office Phone:			
Organization:	Home/Cell Phone:			
JURISDICTIONS NOMINATED				
Jurisdiction 1 Name:	Jurisdiction 2 Name:			
Contact Person:	Contact Person:			
Phone:	Phone:			
Mailing City/State/Zip:	Mailing City/State/Zip:			
Jurisdiction 3 Name:	Jurisdiction 4 Name:			
Contact Person:	Contact Person:			
Phone:	Phone:			
Mailing City/State/Zip:	Mailing City/State/Zip:			
(For additional jurisdictions, please attach additional rows)				
DESCRIBE WHY YOUR NOMINEES SHOULD RECEIVE THIS AWARD Describe how these jurisdictions worked across jurisdictional boundaries to deliver a service to their citizens at an equal or lower cost (provide approximate dollar savings), and with an equal or better service outcome.				