nctcog logo
transportation label



Air Quality

In 2012, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) designated ten counties (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise Counties) in North Central Texas as nonattainment for the pollutant ozone in accordance with the 2008 8-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). These standards are designed to protect human and environmental health, and ground-level ozone is monitored and targeted for reductions due to its potentially harmful effects. Four main sources of ozone-causing emissions include On-road Mobile Sources (e.g., cars and trucks), Non-road Mobile Sources (e.g., construction equipment), Point Sources (e.g., electric generating utilities and industrial boilers), and Area Sources (e.g., solvent use and agriculture).

Development of an air quality plan, known as the State Implementation Plan (SIP), is required for all nonattainment areas in order to demonstrate how ozone will be reduced to levels compliant with the NAAQS.  The SIP for the Dallas-Fort Worth nonattainment area includes programs to get older cars off the road, technologies to clean up vehicles already on the road, and education programs so that citizens can do their part in improving air quality in North Texas.  For more information about what individuals and businesses can do to clean the air, visit

NCTCOG works in cooperation with federal, State, and local partners to ensure all air quality requirements are met.  NCTCOG strives to achieve attainment of the ozone NAAQS as early as possible and contributes to a better quality of life for all North Texans.  Follow the links to the left to explore various aspects of air quality, or view the "Hot Spots" section highlighted below.

Hot Spots


Highest Current Ozone Level: Pilot Point
View Map
Ozone Color Levels
Air Quality Index Colors


AirCheck Texas

Drive a Clean Machine

Regional Smoking Vehicle Program

Air North Texas

12/8/2015  11/18/2015 JPL/

Find Us on Facebook  Follow Us on Twitter  Tubin with the COG Trans  Grammin with CogTrans
 North Central Texas Council of Governments | 616 Six Flags Drive P.O. Box 5888 Arlington, TX 76005-5888
 Main Operator: (817) 640-3300 | Fax: (817) 640-7806