

**Council of Governments** 

## BICYCLE AND PEDESTRIAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

North Central Texas Council of Governments Virtual Teams Meeting November 17, 2021 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

<b>2:00 – 2:05</b> (5 min)	<ol> <li>Welcome – Introductions         Discussion of the August 18, 2021, BPAC meeting summary, as necessary.     </li> </ol>	<b>Kathy Nelson</b> , Chair, City of Grapevine
<b>2:05 – 2:30</b> (25 min)	<ul> <li>2. Local Community Updates <ul> <li>a. Vision Zero – Kathryn Rush, City of Dallas</li> <li>b. Real time Display Kiosks – Gene Moulden, City of Irving</li> <li>c. Dallas Road Corridor &amp; Cotton Belt Trail Ext. – Kathy Nelson, Grapevine</li> <li>d. Upcoming Events – Robert Caskey, Frisco</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Various BPAC Members and Guests
<b>2:30 – 2:45</b> (15 min)	<b>3. Smart Sensors and Infrastructure for Transportation</b> Overview of the importance of continuous pedestrian behavior data collection to build a smart transportation system with equitable safety, the roadmap of pedestrian safety improvements, the basics of Lidar sensing, and the downfalls of pedestrian data collection at intersections.	<b>Dr. Pengfei</b> (Taylor) Li, Univ. of Texas at Arlington
<b>2:45 – 2:55</b> (10 min)	<b>4. Walk. Bike. Safe Texas Initiative and Training for Law Enforcement</b> Overview of two initiatives that aim to address pedestrian and bicyclist safety, including an outreach and educational campaign for all road users and training for law enforcement on pedestrian and bicyclist related laws.	<b>Neal</b> Johnson, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
<b>2:55 – 3:05</b> (10 min)	5. Bike DFW Coordination with Local Communities Overview of Open Streets and Ciclovia events, Community Rides with Elected Officials, Bike Friendly America Program, and Bike-to-Work Day.	<b>Heather</b> <b>McNair,</b> Bike DFW
<b>3:05 – 3:20</b> (15 min)	6. Santa Fe Trail Master Plan Overview of the Santa Fe Trail Master Plan that includes major and minor trail improvements and enhancements such as wayfinding signage, art installations, and tree planting.	<b>Samuel</b> <b>Mortimer</b> , Friends of Santa Fe Trail
<b>3:20 – 3:55</b> (35 min)	<ul> <li>7. NCTCOG Updates <ul> <li>a. Monthly Trail Usage – Daniel Snyder</li> <li>b. Data Collection and Reporting – Daniel Snyder</li> <li>c. Regional Trail Branding and Wayfinding Project – Shawn Conrad</li> <li>d. Regional Complete Streets/Context Sensitive Design Policy–Julie Anderson</li> <li>e. TxDOT Inventory/Active Transportation Tool – Julie Anderson</li> <li>f. Update on the TxDOT Roadway Design Manual – Julie Anderson</li> <li>g. 2022 BPAC Representatives and Meeting Schedule – Bobby Kozub</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Various NCTCOG Staff
<b>3:55 – 4:00</b> (5 min)	8. Other Business/Open Discussion This item provides an opportunity to bring items of interest before the Committee or propose future agenda items.	<b>Kathy Nelson</b> , Chair, City of Grapevine
Next BPAC Meeting The next meeting of the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee is scheduled for February 17, 2022, from 2:00-4:00pm. The meeting is anticipated to be in person at NCTCOG in the Regional Transportation Council room. In January 2022 NCTCOG will contact STTC reps to designate their agency representatives to BPAC.		

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee – 2021 Roster			
Agency Representing	Name		
Town of Addison	Janna Tidwell		
City of Allen	Krishan Patel		
City of Arlington	Anthony Cisneros		
City of Bedford	Michele Wilson		
City of Burleson	Heather Houseman		
City of Carrollton	Marcos Fernandez		
City of Cedar Hill	Shawn Ray		
City of Cleburne	Laura Melton		
City of Colleyville	Ray Silva-Reyes		
City of Coppell	John Elias		
City of Dallas	Jessica Scott		
City of Denton	Nathaniel George		
City of DeSoto	Crystal Strickland		
City of Duncanville	Skye Thibodeaux		
City of Euless	Alexander Harvey		
City of Farmers Branch	Mitzi Davis		
Town of Flower Mound	Kari Biddix		
City of Fort Worth	Jeremy Williams		
City of Frisco	Robert Caskey		
City of Garland	Josue De la Vega		
City of Grand Prairie	Brett Huntsman		
City of Grapevine	Kathy Nelson		
City of Greenville	Letora Anderson		
City of Irving	Cody Owen		
City of Keller	Cody Maberry		
City of Lancaster	Emma Chetuya		
City of Lewisville	Stacy Anaya		
City of Mansfield	Chris Ray		
City of McKinney	Robyn Root		
City of Mesquite	Wes McClure		
City of Midlothian	Heather Dowell		
City of North Richland Hills	Joe Pack		
City of Plano	Drew Brawner		
City of Richardson	Jessica Shutt		
City of Rowlett	Carlos Monsalve		
City of Southlake	Robert Cohen		
City of The Colony	Eve Morgan		
City of Waxahachie	Colby Collins		
City of Weatherford	Chad Marbut		
City of Wylie	Robert Diaz		
Dallas County	Minesha Reese		
Hunt County	Kevin St. Jacques		
Rockwall County	Lee Gilbert		
Tarrant County	Kristen Camareno		
Wise County	Chad Davis		
Dallas Area Rapid Transit	Patricio Gallo		
Denton County Transportation Authority	Tim Palermo		
North Texas Tollway Authority	Kelly Johnson		
Trinity Metro	Jennifer Grissom		
TXDOT Dallas District	Jan Heady		
TXDOT Fort Worth District	Phillip Hays		
	i imp nays		

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee – 2021 Roster