community services label

Regional 9-1-1 Emergency Number Program / Telecommunicator Awards 2006

awardThe Commission on State Emergency Communications (CSEC) annually honors the achievements and contributions of the men and women who are the backbone of Texas' successful 9-1-1 program: 9-1-1 calltakers. Every year since 1989, CSEC has presented the Telecommunicator of the Year Award to honorees in recognition of exemplary handling of a specific 9-1-1, or other, phone call for emergency assistance. The 2006 Telecommunicator Awards were presented on August 30, 2006, at the Texas-NENA/CSEC 2006 Telecommunicator Conference and Awards Ceremony.

A total of eight awards were given from a pool of 28 nominations encompassing the entire State of Texas.

The 9-1-1 program at the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) includes 43 Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPS) in 13 counties. A total of five of the top eight award recipients are from NCTCOG's 9-1-1 Program. They are Sara Hatch from Collin County Sheriff's Office, Lana Plowman and Jacob Stephens from Wise County Sheriff's Office, and Shawnna Davenport and Danielle Proctor from Greenville Police Department.

The remaining three top recipients, while not in the NCTCOG 9-1-1 program, are from NCTCOG's Regional District, which includes Denton, Tarrant, and Dallas Counties, for a total of 16 counties. Recipients from these counties include Tracy Trevino from The Colony, Maria Rojas from Dallas Police Department, and Penny Loyd from River Oaks Police Department.

2006 Telecommunicators of the Year
Sara Hatch
Lana Plowman -
Jacob Stephens

Sara Hatch
Collin County Sheriff's Office

Read the nomination letter

Lana Plowman
Wise County Sheriff's Office

Read the nomination letter

Jacob Stephens
Wise County Sheriff's Office
Read the nomination letter

Shawanna Davenport Danielle Proctor
Shawnna Davenport
Greenville Police Department
Read the nomination letter
Danielle Proctor
Greenville Police Department

Read the nomination letter

in the NCTCOG Region
This noncompetitive award is presented to an individual telecommunicator in recognition of his or her exceptional professionalism in the field of emergency communications, and acknowledges the special contributions of telecommunicators whose daily performance is an inspiration and example to others.

Linda Bruce
Allen Police Dept.

Jaymie Maddux
Richland Hills Police Dept.

April Bryant
McKinney Police Dept.

Gwinna Pedigo
Lewisville Police Dept.

Randal Burkett
Coppell Police Dept.

Bonnie Pollock
Irving Police Dept.

Angela Collinsworth
Fort Worth Police Dept.

Bonnie Putnam
Denton County Sheriff's Dept.

Leanne Dean
Weatherford Police Dept.

Wendy Shearin
Wise County Sheriff 's Office

Todd Eades
Collin County Sheriff's Office

Betty Wafer
Dallas Fire - Rescue

Diann Etheridge
Richardson Police Dept.

Rebecca Watkins
The Colony Police Dept.

Georgianna Feind
Hood County Sheriff's Office

Regina Whitsitt
Garland Police Dept.

Monica Garrett
Navarro County Sheriff's Dept.

Jennifer Veber
North Richland Hills Police Dept.

Michelle Haggerty
Plano Police Dept.

Deandrae Thompson
SouthWest Regional Comm. Center

Martha Kimball
Arlington Police Dept.


Contact Information
Kelly Williams, 9-1-1 Operations Specialist
Phone 817-704-5681 | Fax 817-640-7492

Find us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter
 North Central Texas Council of Governments | 616 Six Flags Drive P.O. Box 5888 Arlington, TX 76005-5888
 Main Operator: (817) 640-3300 | Fax: (817) 640-7806