MEETING SUMMARY REGIONAL SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE Friday, July 22, 2022 10 am – 12 pm

The Regional Safety Advisory Committee met via Microsoft Teams at 10 am on July 22, 2022.

Please see Pages 4-5 for Member and NCTCOG staff attendance.

Meeting Summary Outline

- 1. Approval of March 25, 2022, Meeting Summary
- 2. RSAC Member Introductions
- 3. Regional Safety Plan Development Peer Review
- 4. Update Items
- 5. Safety-Related Reference Items, Topics or Training Courses
- 6. Upcoming Safety-Related Events and Training Announcements
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Next RSAC Meeting: October 28, 2022, 10 am Format to be Determined

1. Approval of March 25, 2022, Meeting Summary – Rama Dhanikonda, Chair, City of Richardson

The March 25, 2022, meeting summary was accepted as written.

2. RSAC Member Introductions – All Members

RSAC members were asked to introduce themselves.

3. Regional Safety Plan Development Peer Review – Kevin Kroll and Michael Misantonis, NCTCOG

Kevin and Michael presented NCTCOG's Regional Safety Development Plan, siting the need for the plan, the process and approach, the safety data analysis completed, the emphasis areas, the High Injury Network, safety countermeasures, and next steps.

The presentation can be found on the RSAC web page.

4. Update Items – NCTCOG Staff

a) Crash Report Meeting with TxDOT Followup – Sonya Landrum

Sonya Landrum reported that interested NCTCOG safety staff and several RSAC members had held a virtual meeting with TxDOT to discuss the existing crash report training for officers as well as public-facing dashboards that TxDOT had created to help analyze the crash data. TxDOT offered to hold other meetings to discuss additional topics or address questions about the CRIS dashboard.

b) Statewide Safety Task Force Update – Sonya Landrum

Sonya informed the committee that Natalie Bettger and Michael Morris continue to participate in the ongoing meetings. A more detailed update will be provided at the October meeting.

5. <u>Safety-Related Reference Items, Topics or Training Courses Website</u>

6. Upcoming Safety-Related Events and Training Announcements

- a) <u>2022 Traffic Safety Conference</u>, Texas A&M Hotel & Conference Center in College Station, Texas (*in-person*)
 o July 27-29, 2022
- b) <u>ITE Annual Meeting & Exhibition</u>, New Orleans LA
 o July 31 August 3, 2022
- c) <u>AICP-Certified Seminar on Connected and Autonomous Vehicles</u>, Hurst Conference Center o August 3, 2022
- d) <u>2022 Texas Pedestrian Safety Forum</u>, Austin TX o August 18, 2022
- e) Traffic Incident Management First Responder and Manager Course:

<u>August 25-26, 2022</u>, Rockwall County Courthouse
 <u>September 22-23, 2022</u>, TxDOT Euless Office

f) Fall 2022 Traffic Incident Management Executive Level Course o November 3, 2022, Location TBD

7. Other Business

Sonya thanked Asma Tuly for her leadership as RSAC chair, and welcomed Rama Dhanikonda as new Chair, and Rob Severance as Co-Chair.

The next RSAC is scheduled for October 28, 2022, at 10 am. Meeting format has yet to be determined.

AGENCY	REPRESENTATIVE
City of Allen	Asma Tuly
City of Arlington	Daniel Burnham
City of Carrollton	John Romberger
City of Cleburne	Robert Severance
City of Dallas	Joe Marchione (for Gus Khankarli)
City of Duncanville	Jackie Culton
City of Euless	Major L. Jones
City of Farmers Branch	Danielle Rix
City of Fort Worth	Tanya Brooks
City of Frisco	Curtis Jarecki
City of Garland	Paul Luedtke
City of Grand Prairie	Caryl deVries
City of Grapevine	Eliz. Reynolds
City of Haltom City	Greg Van Nieuwenhuize
City of Irving	Cody Owen
City of Keller	Alonzo Linan
City of Lancaster	Lyneil Harris
City of Lewisville	David Salmon
City of McKinney	Pamela Alummoottil
City of Mesquite	Eric Gallt
City of North Richland Hills	Todd Espy
City of Plano	Matt Tilke
City of Richardson	Rama Dhanikonda
City of Southlake	Rob Cohen
City of The Colony	Ron Hartline
City of Waxahachie	Jim Lockart
City of Weatherford	Bill Smith (for Chad Marbut)
Town of Addison	Shannon Hicks
Town of Flower Mound	Matt Hotelling
Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport	Gregory Royster
Denton County Transportation Authority	Tim Palermo
North Texas Tollway Authority	Yang Ouyang
Trinity Metro	Jessica Bowers
Collin County	Bridell Miers
Dallas County	Anthony Smith
Hood County (Representing)	Joe Atwood
Hunt County (Representing)	Chris Bosco
Rockwall County (Representing)	Buz Elsom
Tarrant County	Akhar Pokhrel

Members in Attendance at the July 22, 2022, RSAC meeting:

Wise County	Chad Davis
Texas Transportation Institute A&M	Jason Wu
FHWA - Texas Division	Amelia Hayes
Lee Engineering	John Denholm
TxDOT Fort Worth District	Paula Meyer

NCTCOG Staff in Attendance at the July 22, 2022, RSAC meeting:

Camille Fountain
Kevin Kroll
Sonya Landrum
Michael Misantonis
Thomas Bamonte
Clinton Hail