### **Meeting Summary**

# Western Region Solid Waste Capacity Policy Advisory Group June 16, 2022 Submitted by Edith Marvin, NCTCOG

- 21 participants (non-NCTCOG staff)
- Greg Dickens, Hurst Motion to consider revisions to by-laws membership related to city size distribution, Joey Highfill, Wise County 2<sup>nd</sup>
- Group discussion of approval for city size revisions agreed on revisions, but no change to the number of 7 seats to "7-8 seats". So 25 cities and 8 counties = 33 total possible voting members. 17 nominees currently.
- Billy Owens, North Richland Hills new revised motion, Joey 2<sup>nd</sup>: Vote all "aye" no "nay"; Motion passed unanimously, by-laws will be updated.
- The nominees each introduced themselves (if absent, Elena read their form) and were voted upon see slide and snip below.
- Joey Highfill, Wise County, motion to approve all those seeking membership except
  Councilmember Shannon Dubberly, City of Keller because he did not submit a form (the City
  Manager nominated him). He will be considered at the next meeting once he submits his
  nomination form. (Elena will contact Councilmember Dubberly and request a nomination form.)
  Vote all "aye" no "nay"; 16 members now exist on the PAG. Listed below.
- 1. Clint Head, Hood County
- 2. Joey Highfill, Wise County
- 3. Sterling Naron, City of Hudson Oaks
- 4. Gordon W. Smith, City of River Oaks
- 5. Rick Crownover, City of Granbury
- 6. Jason Breisch, City of Mineral Wells
- 7. Rich Tharp, City of White Settlement
- 8. Mayor Doug Svien, City of Stephenville

- 9. Dustin Deel, City of Weatherford,
- 10. Jeremy Hutt, City of Cleburne
- 11. Greg Dickens, City of Hurst
- 12. Billy Owens, City of North Richland Hills
- 13. Howard Redfearn, City of Mansfield
- 14. Patricia Redfearn, City of Grand Prairie
- 15. Misty Adams, City of Arlington
- 16. Jim Keezell, City of Fort Worth
- Three Non-Voting Members sought membership and introduced themselves:
- 1. Brian Boerner, Director of Solid Waste, City of Denton;
- 2. Michael Carleton, President, Michael Carleton and Assoc.; and,
- 3. Elena Berg, Planner III, NCTCOG
- Dustin Deel and Joey Highfill offered to fill officer positions; Joey Highfill and Greg Dickens motion and 2nd to discuss:
- Joey Highfill motion for Dustin to be Chair; Greg Dickens 2<sup>nd</sup> vote passes unanimously.
- Greg Dickens motion that Joey Highfill be Vice-Chair; Jeremy Hutt with Cleburne 2<sup>nd</sup> vote passes unanimously.
- Brian Boerner, Joey Highfill, and Mike Carleton all offered to provide support to anyone who
  would volunteer for Secretary Billy Owens, North Richland Hills, volunteered. Joey Highfill motion for Billy Owens as Secretary; Dustin Deel 2<sup>nd</sup> vote passes unanimously.
- Western Region PAG Officers

**Chair:** Dustin Deel, City of Weatherford **Vice Chair:** Joey Highfill, Wise County

Secretary: Billy Owens, City of North Richland Hills

### **Meeting Summary**

Western Region Solid Waste Capacity Policy Advisory Group June 16, 2022 Submitted by Edith Marvin, NCTCOG

- Discussion occurred about NCTCOG's level of involvement and support being limited. Simple support, not like a NCTCOG committee, and no directions or influence toward decisions by group.
- Dustin Deel and Joey Highfill requested contact information from Elena for 17 nominees/16 voting members and all the potential community contacts as well.
- Next Steps: Topics for next meeting, speakers, meeting date and place NCTCOG will assist with setting up and planning this next meeting and then step back into an ex-officio role.
- Topics for next meeting: Greg Dickens and Gordon Smith discussed permitting a landfill Mike
  Carleton clarified that 15 years is for site selection, property purchasing, permitting, and
  building. Brian Boerner commented that land identification takes about 5 of those years. Greg
  Dickens maybe someone from state could talk about a recent landfill that was permitted and
  what was involved. Dustin Deel suggested a high-level recap of what has been presented in the
  past on this matter by Mike Carleton. Joey Highfill Allot time on next agenda for a discussion of
  what steps to take to get to end-goal how we're going to get there.
- Dustin Deel: Next meeting should be September 12-16. Councils are typically 2<sup>nd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> weeks of the month.
- Elena Berg offered help with topics and speakers for next meeting. Group requested yes, and Dustin stated that they would pick it up from there and move forward.
- Joey Highfill asked about face-to-face or MS Teams meetings. In-person meeting places could be moved around within the 8 county area. The group agreed to have the next meeting inperson. Elena Berg will help find a venue to host a face-to-face meeting. Greg Dickens suggested a county facility.
- Elena Berg thanked the group for time and decision making and adjourned meeting.

#### Chat:

[9:40 AM] Cassidy Campbell

https://www.nctcog.org/envir/materials-management/western-region-solid-waste-capacity-study

North Central Texas Council of Governments - Western Region Solid Waste Capacity Study [9:42 AM] Cassidy Campbell

By-laws: https://www.nctcog.org/getmedia/1f208a81-8443-4e3f-8b02-0269de2a057a/Final-Western-PAG-Bylaws.pdf.aspx

[9:47 AM] Cassidy Campbell

Nomination Form: https://www.nctcog.org/getmedia/b65dd380-f2fe-413a-81ee-

926eb635f101/WesternPAG-Nomination-Form.pdf.aspx

## **Meeting Summary**

# Western Region Solid Waste Capacity Policy Advisory Group June 16, 2022 Submitted by Edith Marvin, NCTCOG

### Attendance

Meeting of the Western Region Solid Waste Capacity Policy Advisory Group Thursday, June 16, 2022

Misty Adams, City of Arlington

Elena Berg, NCTCOG

Brian Boerner, City of Denton

Jason Breisch, City of Mineral Wells

Cassidy Campbell, NCTCOG

Michael Carleton, Michael Carleton and Associates

Rick Crownover, City of Granbury

Dustin Deel, City of Weatherford

Greg Dickens, City of Hurst

Kathy Fonville, City of Mesquite

Joey Highfill, Wise County

Chip Hopkins, City of Venus

Gerard Hudspeth, City of Denton

Melissa Hutchinson, City of Burleson

Jeremy Hutt, City of Cleburne

Edward Lopez, City of Richland Hills

Edith Marvin, NCTCOG

Kevin North, City of Burleson

Billy Owens, City of North Richland Hills

Darin Parle, City of Burleson

Gordon Smith, City of River Oaks

Dewey Stoffels, City of Grapevine

Kristian Sugrim, City of Aledo

Rich Tharp, City of White Settlement