



**Regional Codes Coordinating Committee** 

9:30 AM, Tuesday, July 18, 2023 Regional Forum Conference Room NCTCOG Campus, Centerpoint 2

Chair: David Kerr, City of Melissa Vice-Chair: Selso Mata, City of Plano

1. Welcome and Introductions.

meeting (August)

## **ACTION ITEMS**

**2.** Summary of the April 18, 2023 Meeting. The April 18, 2023 meeting summary is available here for your review and consideration.

The meeting summary was approved as presented.

**3.** Regional Codes Work Program Discussion. NCTCOG provided a draft FY2024-2026 work plan for review and discussion at the April 18, 2023 meeting. The work plan has been revised per RCCC members' request and approval will be sought at this meeting.

The work plan was approved with the following edits: Page 6 – reduce the priority tasks listed to the top 7 (to match previous work plan format) Chart – change year to 2020

4. Approval of the 2023 National Electrical Code Regional Recommended Amendments (James Hathorn). The Electrical Advisory Board (EAB) has completed the review of the 2023 National Electrical Code and has developed regional recommended amendments for which the EAB will be seeking approval from the Regional Codes Coordinating Committee (RCCC).

The National Electrical Code Regional Recommended Amendments were approved with the following edits: Confirm formatting/highlighting Include date of Executive Board approval in the footnote (rather than just the month/year) Double-check spelling and code references after format The next step is for the Executive Board to review and approve the amendments at their next available

**5. Regional Codes Coordinating Committee FY2024 Membership Voting.** RCCC members with renewable terms will be considered for another term. Nominations for new members will be considered. The FY2024 membership terms begin on October 1, 2023.

The following members were reappointed to new 2-year terms:

616 Six Flags Drive, Centerpoint Two P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, Texas 76005-5888 (817) 640-3300 FAX: 817-608-2372 www.nctcog.org



Little David Session	Member (City of Dallas)
Senior Chief Dwight Freeman	Member (City of Dallas)
Philip Climer	Member (City of Frisco)
Brett King	Member (City of Carrollton)
Wayne K. Snell, Jr.	Member (City of Irving)
Jeremy Booker	Member (City of Lewisville)
David Pendley	Member (City of North Richland Hills)
Selso Mata	Member (City of Plano) Vice Chair
Jeffrey Widmer	Member (City of Rockwall)
Joelle Hainley	Member (Town of Flower Mound)
Jack Baxley	Member (Associated General Contractors)
Stan Folsom	Member (Construction Code Consultant)

For the private sector, Warren Bonisch and Robert Pegues were elected to fill the seats. For the public sector, Gail Lux (City of Cedar Hill) and Evan Roberts (City of Fort Worth) were elected to fill the seats.

6. Approval Sought for Appointment of RCCC Officers. RCCC members will vote on nominations for Chair and Vice Chair for FY2024.

Results: Chair: David Kerr, City of Melissa Vice-Chair: Selso Mata, City of Plano

7. Training Opportunities. NCTCOG will discuss upcoming training opportunities.

July 26, 2023, 12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT) - U.S. State Renewables Portfolio & Clean Electricity Standards: Berkeley Lab's 2023 Review <u>webinar</u>

August 15, 2023, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM (CT) – Here Comes the Sun: Innovative Community Solar Systems webinar

September 14-15, 2023 - SPEER's Annual <u>Policy + Industry Workshop</u>, Austin, TX (*complete this survey* for a chance to win free registration)

Texas Monthly article: Without Solar Power, This Texas Heat Wave Would Burn Much Worse

## 8. SECO update. NCTCOG to provide information and opportunities in the current SECO grant.

August 15: Workshop on Energy Efficiency, cohosted with AACOG and WCTCOG, will be virtual, additional details forthcoming

August 23: Building Retrofits training/event Confirmed speakers: Bahman Yazdani – TAMU ESL Cassidy Ellis - Amresco Clifford Braddock – Metco Engineering

## OTHER BUSINESS AND ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION

616 Six Flags Drive, Centerpoint Two P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, Texas 76005-5888 (817) 640-3300 FAX: 817-608-2372 www.nctcog.org





**Regional Codes Coordinating Committee** 

9:30 AM, Tuesday, July 18, 2023 Regional Forum Conference Room NCTCOG Campus, Centerpoint 2

Chair: David Kerr, City of Melissa Vice-Chair: Selso Mata, City of Plano

**9.** Future Agenda Items. NCTCOG will bring committee reappointments and Advisory Board membership needs to the next meeting.

Advisory Board membership needs

**10. Roundtable Topics/Other Business.** RCCC members and NCTCOG may share additional items of interest.

Brett reminded members of the BOAT conference at A&M/College Station, from August 15-18 and the BPI training in Irving on July 24-27.

Selso reminded Advisory Board chairs and vice-chairs that part of their duties includes presenting their items to the RCCC and preparing the documents to be reviewed. He stated that James Hathorn, EAB Chair, had done a great job with both items. Selso also reminded AB members that the ICC books will be out soon and to be prepared for upcoming review schedule.

**11. Schedule for the Next RCCC Meeting.** The next meeting date is scheduled for Tuesday, October 17, 2023 at 9:30 A.M. This meeting will be **virtual**.

The Committee voted to make this meeting virtual.

12. Adjournment.

If you have any questions regarding the meeting or agenda items, please contact Carolyn Horner by phone at (817) 695-9217, or by email at <u>chorner@nctcog.org</u>. If you plan to attend this public meeting and you have a disability that requires special arrangements at the meeting, please contact Liliana Sheppard by phone at (817) 695-9231 or by email at Isheppard@nctcog.org, 72 hours in advance of the meeting. Reasonable accommodations will be made to assist your needs.

> 616 Six Flags Drive, Centerpoint Two P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, Texas 76005-5888 (817) 640-3300 FAX: 817-608-2372 www.nctcog.org

Attendee	Organization	7/18/23
RCCC Member		· ·
Arnold, Suzanne	City of McKinney	x
Bass, Joe	Hillwood	
Baxley, Jack	TEXO	Х
Booker, Jeremy	City of Lewisville	
Brooks, Craig	Burgess Construction Consultants	John D.
Climer, Phillip	City of Frisco	х
Coker, Paul	City of Mansfield	
Cudd, Brady	Town of Prosper	Х
Folsom, Stan	Systemhause	
Freeman, Dwight	Dallas Fire-Rescue	х
Gray, Allison	City of Fort Worth	
Hainley, Joelle	Town of Flower Mound	Х
Joiner, Cleve	City of Corinth	Х
Kerr, David	City of Melissa	
King, Brett	City of Carrollton	X
Lehde, David	Dallas Builders Association	Х
Lepinski, Dan	Dan Lepinski, P.E.	х
Mata, Selso	City of Plano	Х
McGriff, Gregg	Rreaf Communities	
Morgan, Bob	City of Fort Worth	Evan Roberts
Pendley, David	City of North Richland Hills	Х
Rachel, Bruce	Hensley Lamkin Rachel, Inc.	х
Ripley, Rick	City of Arlington	Angela S.
Rodriguez, James	Fox Energy Specialists	х
Session, Little David	City of Dallas	Х
Snell, Wayne	City of Irving	Х
Widmer, Jeffrey	City of Rockwall	Х
Yazdani, Bahman	Texas A&M ESL	
Guests		
Trey Kneggs	Dallas/EAB	
Lance Baker	Corinth	
James Hathorn	Irving/EAB	
Izzy Rivera	Princeton	
Cruz Hernandez	Celina	
Zac Loiselle	Celina	
Gail Lux	Cedar Hill/PMAB	
Staff		