



**Regional Codes Coordinating Committee** 

9:30 AM, Tuesday, January 17, 2023

## **MS** Teams

Chair: David Kerr, City of Melissa Vice-Chair: Selso Mata, City of Plano

1. Welcome and Introductions.

## **ACTION ITEMS**

2. Summary of the October 18, 2022, Meeting. The October 18, 2022 meeting summary is available <u>here</u> for your review and consideration.

The meeting summary was approved as presented.

**3.** Approval Sought for Appointment of Advisory Board Nominees. The RCCC will consider the nomination of new members to the Electrical Advisory Board.

The Electrical Advisory Board Nominees received an affirmative vote by the RCCC. The new members include:

- Angela Sakawat, Senior Electrical Inspector, City of Arlington
- David Heiliger, Senior Plans Examiner, City of Fort Worth
- David Rubin, Executive Director, A SustainAble Production
- Edward Fisher, Senior Plans Examiner, City of Celina
- Jeremy Darringer, Senior Electrical Inspector, City of Lewisville
- 4. Approval Sought for Appointment of Advisory Board Officers. The RCCC shall discuss and vote on the officers for the upcoming Electrical Advisory Board.

The Electrical Advisory Board Officer Nomination received an affirmative vote by the RCCC. The new Vice Chair is:

Chris Valtierra, IAEI

## DISCUSSION AND POTENTIAL ACTION

5. Annual Code Adoption Survey. NCTCOG will present the annual code adoption survey questions for review and discussion.

The RCCC approved the survey questions as presented.

6. Training Opportunities. NCTCOG will discuss upcoming training opportunities.

Staff presented the training opportunity:

616 Six Flags Drive, Centerpoint Two P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, Texas 76005-5888 (817) 640-3300 FAX: 817-608-2372 www.nctcog.org



 Lithium-Ion Fire Protection Forum In partnership with the National Fire Sprinkler Assoc. Wednesday, February 8, 2:30 – 4:00 pm William Pitstick Conference Room NCTCOG Campus

Seating Capacity requires reservations: please reserve your seat here.

The same training is also available on February 8, 11:00 am as a lunch and learn in Coppell. More information available online.

#### OTHER BUSINESS AND ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION

7. Future Agenda Items. The committee can request future agenda items.

Future Agenda Items include:

- Results of the Annual Survey
- Possible SECO-RCCC joint training opportunities
- Work Plan for FY24-26
- 8. Roundtable Topics/Other Business. RCCC members and NCTCOG may share additional items of interest.

NCTCOG Staff Presented information on the Cost Share Participation for 2023.

Chris Pamplin, Flower Mound – Was notified by town attorney that there is an issue with a state law effective September 2021 regarding the regulation of solar panels. Cited that they are unable to permit or inspect them legally. Through discussion and clarification, it seems <u>SB 398</u> is the bill in question. It was proposed that Dan Lepinski review the bill and report to the committee. He mentioned during the meeting that generally the bill prohibits the use of esthetic aspects to restrict the placement of solar panels. Dan agreed to review and report on the bill.

Gerald Swindell – Offered an opportunity for inspector training on CSST. He has the first quarter of this year to do any specific inspector trainings. Staff is following up for specifics and will keep the group informed.

Cindy Giedraitis – Initiated a discussion on bill in the Texas Legislature that may be of interest to cities regarding codes. She mentioned a list of bills including, but not limited to; SB 259 & HB 866. It was proposed that the RCCC should set up a task force or committee from NCTCOG to monitor these bills in the Texas Legislature. Cindy would be glad to assist the group.

Dan Lepinksi – Proposed the RCCC take a look at one of the proposed amendments from the NCTCOG for further clarification. The specific code is from 710.15 of the National Electric Code. It was advised by the chair that Dan take this item to the Electrical Advisory Board's next meeting for clarification.

**9.** Schedule for the Next RCCC Meeting. The next meeting date is scheduled for Tuesday, April 18, 2023, at 9:30 A.M. This meeting will be in person at the NCTCOG campus.

#### 10. Adjournment.

616 Six Flags Drive, Centerpoint Two P.O. Box 5888, Arlington, Texas 76005-5888 (817) 640-3300 FAX: 817-608-2372 www.nctcog.org





Regional Codes Coordinating Committee 9:30 AM, Tuesday, January 17, 2023

# **MS** Teams

Chair: David Kerr, City of Melissa

Vice-Chair: Selso Mata, City of Plano

If you have any questions regarding the meeting or agenda items, please contact Carolyn Horner by phone at (817) 695-9217, or by email at <u>chorner@nctcog.org</u>. If you plan to attend this public meeting and you have a disability that requires special arrangements at the meeting, please contact Liliana Sheppard by phone at (817) 695-9231 or by email at Isheppard@nctcog.org, 72 hours in advance of the meeting. Reasonable accommodations will be made to assist your needs.

Attendee	Organization	1/17/23
RCCC Member		
Arnold, Suzanne	City of McKinney	x
Bass, Joe	Hillwood	~
Baxley, Jack	TEXO	х
Booker, Jeremy	City of Lewisville	X (late)
Brooks, Craig	Burgess Construction Consultants	x
Climer, Phillip	City of Frisco	х
Coker, Paul	City of Mansfield	
Cudd, Brady	Town of Prosper	X (jeff fauss in place of Brady)
Folsom, Stan	Systemhause	х
Freeman, Dwight	Dallas Fire-Rescue	x
Gray, Allison	City of Fort Worth	х
Hainley, Joelle	Town of Flower Mound	X (Chris Pamplin, in place of Joelle)
Joiner, Cleve	City of Corinth	
Kerr, David	City of Melissa	х
King, Brett	City of Carrollton	х
Lehde, David	Dallas Builders Association	х
Lepinski, Dan	Dan Lepinski, P.E.	х
Mata, Selso	City of Plano	х
McGriff, Gregg	Altura Homes	x (with reef communities now)
Morgan, Bob	City of Fort Worth	x
Pendley, David	City of North Richland Hills	X (late)
Rachel, Bruce	Hensley Lamkin Rachel, Inc.	х
Ripley, Rick	City of Arlington	
Rodriguez, James	Fox Energy Specialists	х
Session, Little David	City of Dallas	
Snell, Wayne	City of Irving	X (late)
Widmer, Jeffrey	City of Rockwall	x
Yazdani, Bahman	Texas A&M ESL	х
Guests		
Cindy Giedraitis	National Fire Sprinkler Assc.	х
Grace Darling	Arlington Conservation Council	х
Michael Sizemore	City of Allen	х
Randy Plumlee	SPEER	х
Tracy Moreno	ELS Engineering	x

Staff		
Casey Cannon	NCTCOG	
Cassidy Campbell	NCTCOG	