

# **Meeting Summary**

Regional Codes Coordinating Committee 9:30 AM, Tuesday, October 13, 2020 Microsoft Teams Meeting

Chair: David Kerr, City of Melissa Vice-Chair: Jim Olk, City of Garland

## 1. Welcome and Introductions.

David Kerr, City of Melissa and Chair of the RCCC, welcomed all meeting attendees.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

2. Summary of the July 14, 2020 Meeting.

The meeting summary was approved unanimously.

3. Regional Codes Work Program Discussion.

The FY21-23 Work Plan was approved as presented. Work Plan priorities for Year 1 include staff support of the Advisory Boards and the RCCC meetings.

4. Approval of the 2020 National Electrical Code Regional Recommended Amendments (James Hathorn).

James Hathorn, City of Irving, Chair of the Electrical Advisory Board, presented the FY2020 NEC proposed amendments. The proposed amendments were approved as presented, with the minor change to 710.15(A) Supply Output: the highlight of the last sentence should not include the first instance of the word "load". Staff has updated the amendment on the document and will move forward with the next step in the amendment process.

5. Approval Sought for Appointment of Advisory Board Nominees.

Each Advisory Board discussed nominees and approved new members. The by-laws require that no more than 1/3 of Advisory Board members may be from the private sector, so not all nominees were selected to be members. By Advisory Board, here are the new members:

Building and Residential Advisory Board:

Evan Roberts, City of Fort Worth Hugh Pender, City of Farmers Branch Shahla Layendecker, City of Dallas Tina Duncan, HKS, Inc.

Energy and Green Advisory Board:

Aijaz Khan, Garland ISD
Cody Hughes, City of Fort Worth
David Lende, Dallas Builders Association

David Lehde, Dallas Builders Association (accidentally left off presentation slide)



Fire Advisory Board:

Eli Kimberly, DynaTen

David Bull, Ellis County Fire Marshal's Office
Debra Crafton, Keller Fire-Rescue
Pat Stewart, City of Granbury
Cindy Giedraitis, National Fire Sprinkler Association

Plumbing and Mechanical Board: Brady Cudd, Town of Prosper Jeffrey Green, City of Fort Worth Richard Denham, City of Dallas

# 6. Approval Sought for Appointment of Advisory Board Officers.

By Advisory Board, the following members are confirmed as officers:

**Building and Residential Advisory Board:** 

Chair: Selso Mata, City of Plano

Vice-Chair: Brett King, City of Carrollton

Energy and Green Advisory Board: Chair: Wayne Snell, City of Irving Vice-Chair: Stan Folsom, Systemhaus

Fire Advisory Board:

Chair: Bob Morgan, City of Fort Worth Vice-Chair: Ariana Kistner, City of Rockwall

Plumbing and Mechanical Advisory Board:

Chair: Gail Lux, City of Cedar Hill

Vice-Chair: Kevin Robinson, Town of Little Elm

#### DISCUSSION

#### OTHER BUSINESS AND ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION

## 7. Future Agenda Items.

No future agenda items were brought forward.

## 8. Roundtable Topics/Other Business.

The 2020 Texas Energy Summit: November 10 – November 18, in the afternoons. For registration, scholarships for government employees and more information, please visit: <a href="https://texasenergysummit.com/">https://texasenergysummit.com/</a>

## 9. Schedule for the Next RCCC Meeting.

The next meeting date is tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, January 19, 2020.

## 10. Adjournment.

If you have any questions regarding the meeting or agenda items, please contact Carolyn Horner by phone at (817) 695-9217, or by email at <a href="mailto:chorner@nctcog.org">chorner@nctcog.org</a>.

If you plan to attend this public meeting and you have a disability that requires special arrangements at the meeting, please contact Barbara Bradford by phone at (817) 695-9231 or by email at bbradford@nctcog.org, 72 hours in advance of the meeting. Reasonable accommodations will be made to assist your needs.

## October 13, 2020 RCCC meeting

Arnold	Suzanne	Х
Bartlett	Larry	
Bass	Joe	
Baxley	Jack	Х
Booker	Jeremy	Х
Climer	Phillip	Х
Coker	Paul	
Folsom	Stan	Х
Ford	Tommy	
Freeman	Dwight	
Gray	Allison	Х
Hadley	Christine	X
Hainley	Joelle	**tech
		difficulties
Joiner	Grover Cleve	
Kerr (Chair)	David	X
Lehde	David	X
Lepinski, P.E.	Dan	X
Mata	Selso	X
Morgan	Bob	X
Olk (Vice Chair)	Jim	X
Pendley	David	
Rachel	Bruce	Х
Ripley	Rick	
Rodriguez	James	
Session	Little David	
Snell, Jr.	Wayne K.	Х
Widmer	Jeffrey	Х
Yazdani	Bahman	Х