# Executive Board, 2022-2023



President ANDREW PIEL Councilmember City of Arlington



Vice President BILL HEIDEMANN Mayor City of Corinth



Secretary-Treasurer CHRIS HILL County Judge Collin County



Past President DAVID SWEET County Judge Rockwall County



Director CLAY JENKINS County Judge Dallas County



Director B. GLEN WHITLEY County Judge Tarrant County



Director CARA MENDELSOHN Councilmember City of Dallas



Director CARLOS FLORES Councilmember City of Fort Worth



The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of, by, and for local governments within the 16-county North Central Texas Region. The agency was established by state enabling legislation in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. Its purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments, and to help them recognize regional opportunities, resolve regional problems, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint regional decisions as well as to develop the means to implement those decisions.

North Central Texas is a 16-county metropolitan region centered around Dallas and Fort Worth. The region has a population of more than 7 million (which is larger than 38 states), and an area of approximately 12,800 square miles (which is larger than nine states). NCTCOG has 229 member governments, including all 16 counties, 167 cities, 19 independent school districts, and 27 special districts.

NCTCOG's structure is relatively simple. An elected or appointed public official from each member government makes up the General Assembly which annually elects NCTCOG's Executive Board. The Executive Board is composed of 17 locally elected officials and one ex-officio non-voting member of the legislature. The Executive Board is the policy-making body for all activities undertaken by NCTCOG, including program activities and decisions, regional plans, and fiscal and budgetary policies. The Board is supported by policy development, technical advisory and study committees – and a professional staff led by R. Michael Eastland, Executive Director.



Director BOBBIE MITCHELL Commissioner Denton County



Director J. D. CLARK County Judge Wise County



Director TODD LITTLE County Judge Ellis County



Director JORJA CLEMSON Councilmember City of Grand Prairie



Director CLYDE HAIRSTON Mayor City of Lancaster



Director **RICK CARMONA** Mayor City of Terrell



Director JANET DePUY Mayor Pro Tem City of Richardson



Director LINDA MARTIN Mayor City of Euless



Director VICTORIA JOHNSON Councilmember City of Burleson



**DR. GLENN ROGERS** State Representative District 60 Ex Officio Member

### North Central Texas Council of Governments



Executive Director MIKE EASTLAND



Agency Administration **MOLLY RENDON** 



Research and Information Services **TIM BARBEE** 



Emergency Preparedness MOLLY MCFADDEN



Transportation MICHAEL MORRIS



9-1-1 Administration CHRISTY WILLIAMS



Deputy Executive Director/Agency Administration **MONTE MERCER** 



Area Agency on Aging **DONI GREEN** 



Environment & Development EDITH MARVIN



Workforce Development PHEDRA REDIFER



Public Affairs LUCILLE JOHNSON

# **Staff Directors**

#### What Does NCTCOG Do?

The **Executive Director's Office** supervises the day-to-day operation of the agency; implements the Executive Board's policy directives; and maintains all Board records (minutes, resolutions, bylaws, appointments). This Office also manages the agency's participation in the Texas Review and Comment System, special projects for member governments, an Urban Fellowship Program and several local government professional roundtables.

Agency Administration is responsible for fiscal management, grants administration and budgeting; administration of purchasing, human resources, insurance, the retirement system, records management and office space; and operation of the supply/mail/copy center.

**Community Services** has planning, program development, and/or program coordination responsibilities in the *Area Agency on Aging* (planning and services in 14 counties); *Criminal Justice* (program development and funds allocation for the 16-county region); *9-1-1 Administration* (management and implementation in 13 counties); and *radio frequency allocation* for public safety agencies (four COGs and 42 counties). NCTCOG's *Regional Training Center* provides training and professional development through a regional police academy and a local government program.

**Emergency Preparedness** staffs the Regional Emergency Preparedness Council and facilitates the work of its Technical Committee. The department also works closely with state and federal agencies that are charged with emergency management mitigation, training, response and recovery responsibilities.

**Environment & Development** assists local governments to protect and improve the region's air, water, and critical land resources; identifies greenway and open space opportunities; promotes pollution prevention through waste minimization, reuse/ recycling and proper disposal of nonrecoverable materials; and coordinates public works infrastructure, flood damage reduction and development codes activities.

**Research & Information Services** provides general technical assistance; population and employment forecasts; annual population, housing and employment estimates; land use information; development announcement reports; and tabulation/analysis of Census data. Support is provided to a regional Geographic Information System (GIS) and NCTCOG's internal computer network. Custom data analyses and special products can be provided on a fee-for-service basis.

**Transportation** provides technical planning services in support of development, project selection and implementation of transportation projects in the *Regional Transportation Plan* and *Transportation Improvement Program*. The department also provides regional planning, major investment studies, travel forecasting, air quality analysis, transit and traffic operations planning, airport planning and technical assistance to local governments.

**Workforce Development** administers publicly funded employment and training programs for Collin, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, and Wise Counties. The department provides staff support to the North Central Texas Workforce Development Board by providing planning, coordination, management, and oversight services.

**Public Affairs** provides external services on behalf of the agency (news media/public relations, directories, newsletters, special publications, operation of NCTCOG's Regional Information Center) and internal services for all departments (graphics design and photography, agency switchboard, mailing lists, meeting/workshop support and special projects).

(Over, please)

#### North Central Texas Council of Governments