nctcog logo
transportation label




nctcog logo


RTC Approves Funding for Key
Southern Dallas County Projects

  Regional partnership could improve access to important corridors

May 12, 2017 (Arlington, Texas) –The Regional Transportation Council voted Thursday to form a partnership with Dallas County and the cities of Lancaster and Hutchins to advance two area projects with important regional benefits.

A 1.3-mile section of Jefferson Street/Pleasant Run Road and a 2.25-mile stretch of Wintergreen Road will each be widened from two lanes to four. This strategic partnership will allow the leveraging of local and federal funding to improve access to intermodal facilities, Interstate Highway 45 and the future Loop 9 in southern Dallas County. Additionally, access will be enhanced for residents and businesses in the area.

The two projects would cost a total of $28 million, with the RTC contributing $18 million. The RTC funding would come from the Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement Program and Surface Transportation Block Grant Program.

Here is a summary of the details:

Project Fiscal Year


Lancaster Hutchins Dallas County Total
Jefferson Street/Pleasant Run Rd 2019


     -- -- $1.04


Wintergreen Road 2019 $9.58 $1.96 $2.00 $3.96 $17.50
Total   $18.00 $3.00 $2.00 $5.00 $28.00







These projects join two others in the area ready to begin construction. The Pleasant Run Road Trail, a proposed 3.1-mile shared-use path the Texas Department of Transportation has already approved, is expected to let in June. It will be built on the south side of Pleasant Run from Lancaster Hutchins Road to Millers Ferry Road. This same stretch of Pleasant Run will be widened from two to four lanes at a cost of $15.4 million.

See the location of each roadway project on the map below.



About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts. For more information on the
NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

For more news from the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit


About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region's transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC's 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area's transportation providers. More information can be found at





Amanda Wilson (817) 695-9284

Christie Gotti (817) 608-2338

# # #


4/27/2018  03/17/2009 JS %Trans

Find Us on Facebook  Follow Us on Twitter  Tubin with the COG Trans  Grammin with CogTrans
 North Central Texas Council of Governments | 616 Six Flags Drive P.O. Box 5888 Arlington, TX 76005-5888
 Main Operator: (817) 640-3300 | Fax: (817) 640-7806