About Us

The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of, by and for local governments, and was established to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered around the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. NCTCOG has over 230 member governments including 16 counties, numerous cities, school districts, and special districts. Click here for more information about membership in NCTCOG.

NCTCOG's General Assembly, which annually elects the Executive Board, is composed of one elected or appointed official from each governmental member of the Council whose annual dues are current. The Executive Board, comprised of 18 locally elected officials, is the policy-making body for all activities undertaken by the Council of Governments, including program activities and decisions, regional plans, and fiscal and budgetary policies. The Board is supported by technical, study, and policy development committees and a professional staff headed by Mike Eastland, Executive Director.

For more about Council of Governments in Texas, visit the Texas Association of Regional Councils web site. For a complete list of Council of Governments in the U.S., visit the National Association of Regional Councils web site.

Map of the NCTCOG region

NCTCOG Strategic Plan for 2021-2025

Public Information Requests