General Assembly

Waxahachie Mayor, Kevin Strength will preside over the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) for the 2018-19 term after being elected President of the regional
planning agency’s 17-member Executive Board, which is the policy-making body for the agency, which serves the local governments in North Central Texas, a region of more than 7 million people.  Strength was elected on Friday, June 15, by North Central Texas locally elected officials at NCTCOG’s 52nd annual meeting of its member governments.
Mayor Strength assumes the leadership of NCTCOG from Tom Lombard, Councilmember in the City of North Richland Hills, who was elected to the one year term in June 2017.  He will continue on the NCTCOG Board as the 2018 – 2019 Past President.  Wise County Judge J. D. Clark is the new Vice-President and City of Prosper Mayor Ray Smith is Secretary/Treasurer.  The new officers will serve in their positions through June 2019.
President Strength was first elected to NCTCOG’s Executive Board in 2014, and has served as Director, Secretary/Treasurer and Vice President before being elected President.  He was elected to Waxahachie’s City Council in 2010, and has served as Mayor since 2014.
Since his election, Mayor Strength has been instrumental in many improvements within Waxahachie, including the expansion of IH-35E, the new state-of-the-art Waxahachie High School, and Baylor Scott and White Hospital.  His contributions to Waxahachie’s economic development efforts will serve the city well for many years to come.
In his acceptance remarks as NCTCOG’s President, Mayor Strength thanked 2017 – 2018 members who rotated off the Executive Board including, Past President Lissa Smith, Former Mayor Pro Tem, City of Plano, Bruce Wood, Kaufman County Judge, and Doug Athas, Mayor, City of Garland for their leadership and welcomed the new members to the 2018 – 2019 Executive Board.  Mayor Strength also invited member government officials and staffs to participate in the monthly meetings at NCTCOG and said, “I look forward to our monthly meetings where together we look for positive solutions beyond our individual borders and regionally cooperate to make sound decisions to benefit the region.”
In addition to the four officers,  13 Directors were elected to the 17 member NCTCOG board including, Dallas County Judge, Clay Jenkins; Tarrant County Judge, Glen Whitley; City of Dallas Councilmember, Lee Kleinman; City of Fort Worth Councilmember, Kelly Allen-Gray; Collin County Judge, Keith Self; Denton County Commissioner, Bobbie Mitchell; City of Arlington Councilmember, Kathryn Wilemon; Rockwall County Judge, David Sweet; City of Irving Mayor, Richard Stopfer; City of Richardson Mayor, Paul Voelker; City of North Richland Hills Councilmember, Tito Rodriguez; City of DeSoto Mayor, Curtistene McCowan, and Town of Trophy Club Mayor, Nick Sanders.  The Honorable State Representative Ron Simmons, District 65, is the NCTCOG Ex Officio member.
About the North Central Texas Council of Governments: NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.
NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts



2018 General Assembly Report