NCTCOG Encourages Input on Various Transportation Projects at March Hybrid Public Meeting


COVID-19 infrastructure, air quality and DART partnerships to be discussed


(Arlington, TEXAS) – The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is hosting a hybrid public meeting on Monday, March 13 and invites residents to learn more about transportation planning initiatives and provide their input on various projects.
The meeting is scheduled for noon at NCTCOG’s Arlington offices, 616 Six Flags Drive. Residents can also watch the meeting live at or participate via phone by dialing 855-925-2801, then code 6190.  

Staff will provide details about funding related to the COVID-19 Infrastructure Program, federal and local partnerships with Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) and the City of Dallas, and potential air quality requirements.  

The COVID-19 Infrastructure Program Transit Partnership previously had $25 million in federal transportation funding approved by the RTC. In March 2021, $14 million of that funding was approved for specific improvements. Staff will present details of the program and projects being proposed for the remainder of the funding.   

To increase the amount of local funding available to the Regional Transportation Council (RTC), NCTCOG staff has been working with DART and the City of Dallas on two funding partnerships, which will help the RTC expedite projects and programs. Details about these partnerships will be presented.  

As a result of the recent reclassifications of the Dallas-Fort Worth nonattainment area, the upcoming State Implementation Plan (SIP) adoption by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality will occur in April 2024 for the 2008 standard, and November 2023 for the 2015 standard. With the 2008 ozone standard’s change from “Serious” to “Severe,” the region may become subject to a federally required stationary source fee program. If the region fails to attain the 2008 ozone standard by the end of 2026, the annual fee program could be implemented as early as 2028. Staff will present more details about the SIP during the meeting.  

Additionally, public comment will be taken for proposed modifications to the list of funded projects. To make a public comment, visit  

Map Your Experience, the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program (RSVP), vehicle incentive and funding opportunities, Saving Money & Reducing Truck Emissions (SMARTE), and Engine Off North Texas will also be highlighted during the public meeting. 
For residents who want to take transit to the meeting, $6 roundtrip rides from the Centerport/DFW Airport Station to NCTCOG are available on VIA, through For special accommodations due to disabilities or language interpretation, contact 817-695-9255 or email Public comments will be accepted until Tuesday, April 11.  

Public Meeting Details      
Noon Monday, March 13, 2023
North Central Texas Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive
Arlington, TX 76011

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments: 
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. 
NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions. NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered in the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 229 member governments including 16 counties, 169 cities, 19 school districts and 27 special districts. For more information on the Transportation Department, visit

About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at